Serving the “white gold” for one hundred years. Understanding, treating and improving flour for 100 years. In 2023, we celebrate our 100th birthday with our global subsidiaries and the millers of the world. An outstanding anniversary!

With a modern and powerful corporate design and our re-aligned identity, we are giving expression to our self-image and moving into the future with motivation and passion. For better flour and sustainably better and safer nutrition and food chains.

Great research: Innovation Award “Composite Flour” announced.
On the occasion of our 100th anniversary, we have established an award for research into Composite Flour. With this innovation award we honor solutions around the production and processing of non-wheat flours and their blends with wheat flour – especially those that use local raw materials.

What it is about

The global wheat market is under increasing pressure. Fluctuating availability and sharply rising wheat prices are endangering global food supplies. In order for flour as a food staple to continue to be available in good quality at prices everyone can afford, going forward it will be more important than ever to be independent of wheat and global markets. One way to achieve this is to use alternatives to wheat flour.

For years, we have developed ways to partially or completely replace wheat flour with non-wheat flours. However, in other areas of wheat substitution there is a lack of background knowledge. In particular, questions remain open with regard to the cultivation and processing of various wheat alternatives, such as:

Who can apply

Our Innovation Award “Composite Flour” honors innovative work on these challenges and on solutions for the milling, baking and pasta industries. The award is for completed scientific studies and practice-focused projects from 2019 to 2022.

All interested parties, institutes and research companies are invited to submit single-page summaries of their studies by 31 Jan. 2023 to

The Prize

The total prize amount is €10,000. Awardees will receive €5,000, €3,000 and €2,000 for first, second and third place.

An international expert jury will review all submissions, select the most promising ones, and then request detailed descriptions of the shortlisted studies.
The award ceremony will be held in July 2023.

Email Icon